Teacher of the Year

Jean Russell, a literacy specialist at Haverhill Elementary School in Southwest Allen County Schools, is the 2016 Indiana Teacher of the Year. She has been an educator for 25 years.

“As a literacy specialist, Jean uses her unique position to provide students and educators with innovative teaching and learning opportunities,” said Glenda Ritz, Indiana’s Superintendent of Public Instruction. “As a teacher leader, Russell supports student literacy by creating a culture of readers both in and outside the classroom. Her commitment to student-centered learning and family engagement is why I am excited to announce that Jean Russell is Indiana’s 2016 Teacher of the Year.”

Russell is a graduate of the University of Illinois where she earned a B.A. in Elementary Education. She later received a M.A. in Elementary Education from Indiana University - Purdue University Fort Wayne. Russell was a classroom educator for 21 years before becoming a literacy specialist. As Indiana’s Teacher of the Year, Russell will represent Indiana in the National Teacher of the Year competition. A selection of her career awards is listed below. 

Honors and Awards

Southwest Allen County Teacher of the Year – 2015

Haverhill Teacher of the Year – 2015

Whispering Meadows Teacher of the Year – 1997

Southwest Allen County Schools Education Foundation Award Recipient

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.